Blog thumbnail

Exploring the Transformative Journey of Ashtanga Yoga Part-1

Exploring the Transformative Journey of Ashtanga Yoga Part-1

Blog thumbnail

Ashtaanga Yoga

  • Yoga is a beautiful path to self-discovery and inner peace.
  • Ashtaanga Yoga is introduced for absolute beginners.
  • By practicing the eight limbs of yoga, you gradually cleanse your mind and weaken impurities.
  • The impurities are ignorance, ego, attachment, aversion, and fear of death.
  • The light of knowledge shines when you understand the difference between your true self and the material world.
  • Knowledge aligns with wisdom through yoga practices.
    Inculcating these practices helps you establish a connection with your inner self.

The Eight Limbs of Yoga:

  • Yama (control)
  • Niyama (rules)
  • Aasana (posture)
  • Pranayama (breathing techniques)
  • Pratyahara (withdrawal of senses)
  • Dharana (concentration)
  • Dhyaana (meditation)
  • Samadhi (full absorption in one object)

Embark on your yoga journey and discover the wonders within!

Behavioural Aspect of Ashtanga Yoga

  • Yama (control)
  • Niyama (rules)
  • Yama ( Control)

Yama, the first limb of Ashtanga Yoga, is all about moral restraints that guide us to live a virtuous life. Let’s break it down:

Ahimsa (non-violence): Spread kindness and compassion to all living beings. Avoid causing harm through actions or words.
Satya (truthfulness): Speak the truth with clarity and act with fairness. Make decisions based on honest thinking.
Asteya (non-stealing): Respect others’ belongings and refrain from taking what isn’t yours, directly or indirectly.
Brahmacharya (control of the senses): Practice self-control not only in sexual matters but in all aspects of life. Master your mind and senses.
Aparigraha (non-hoarding): Live with simplicity and avoid excessive material possessions. Let go of attachment to material things.
Incorporating these principles into your daily life helps build character and moral upliftment. Embrace Yama and experience the positive transformation it brings!
Embrace the Niyamas for Spiritual Growth!

Niyama (rules)

Niyamas are essential rules for personal development and spiritual growth. Let’s explore them:

Saucha (cleanliness): Keep your body, clothes, and surroundings clean. Cultivate purity of mind and avoid negative thoughts and emotions.
Santosha (contentment): Find satisfaction in what you have and be grateful. Avoid excessive desires and embrace a mindset of contentment.
Tapah (askesis): Endure duality and challenges without being affected. Practice self-discipline and overcome impurities of the body, senses, and mind.
Svadhyaya (introspection and study): Reflect on yourself and strive for self-improvement. Study sacred texts for spiritual guidance and detachment from worldly distractions.
Ishvara Pranidhana (surrender to God): Surrender your actions and their outcomes to a higher power (Guru). Cultivate devotion and trust in the divine.

By incorporating these niyamas into your life, you’ll experience personal growth, inner peace, and a deeper connection to your spiritual journey.

Physical Aspect of Ashtanga Yoga

  • Asana
  • Pranayama
  • Aasana

The practical system of spiritual practice begins with aasana, the third limb of Ashtanga Yoga.

Maharishi Patanjali discusses helpful postures for meditation, highlighting Siddhasana, Padmasana, and Swastikasana as important ones. Among these, Siddhasana is considered the best asana for meditation.

According to patanjali, that pose which is stable, comfortable and effortless is an asana. The key attributes of mastering asanas are stability and comfort.

If a practitioner experiences difficulty in maintaining a particular posture, it cannot be considered an aasana. Both excessive and insufficient effort pose obstacles to success in aasanas.

For mastering aasanas, it is crucial not to force the body into postures but rather to fix the mind on the eternal soul. As you become proficient in aasanas, you attain ‘dvandvānabhighātaḥ’ – a state of being unaffected by dualities. Dualities, like happiness and sadness, no longer cause suffering, and you develop inner equanimity.


Pranayama is the ancient practice of breath control in yoga. Here’s what you need to know:

Mastering Asanas: Before diving into pranayama, it’s important to master the art of asanas (yoga postures). Asanas help you prepare your body for the practice of pranayama.
Breath Control: Pranayama involves consciously regulating your breath by stopping the flow of inhalation and exhalation. This technique brings numerous benefits for both the body and mind.
Attaining Focus: With regular practice of pranayama, you develop the ability to focus your mind. It enhances concentration and paves the way for achieving a state of deep meditation known as samadhi.
Breaking the Veil of Ignorance: The practice of pranayama weakens the veil of ignorance that clouds our knowledge and wisdom. It helps in dispelling attachments and illuminates the path of righteousness.
Purification and Health: Pranayama purifies the impurities of rajas ( activity) and tamas (inertia), promoting physical and mental well-being. It enhances the flow of vital energy within the body.

Embark on the journey of pranayama and experience the transformative power of breath. Cultivate focus, clarity, and inner harmony through this profound practice. Breathe deeply, find peace!


Vigyan Yoga is a unique style
of the science of Yoga which imparts techniques to maintain a practical and healthy balance between one’s worldly
and spiritual lives. It teaches how to avoid the extremities of life and live in moderation.

Certified by

Copyright 2023 © | Vigyan Yoga | All Rights Reserved

Shopping cart


No products in the cart.

Hit Enter to search or Esc key to close